Best Dehumidifier
Moisture Frame participates in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
This page covers general-purpose electric dehumidifiers: for a room without a specific structural problem driving the dampness. If you're dealing with a damp basement specifically, Best Dehumidifier for Basement covers the room-specific selection criteria; this page doesn't repeat those here.
Haven't measured the room yet? Start with Best Hygrometer. Not sure a dehumidifier is the right category at all? See Do You Need a Dehumidifier or a Moisture Absorber? Buying because a room smells musty? Dehumidifier for Mildew Smell covers what matters in that case. Torn between this and an air purifier? See Air Purifier vs Dehumidifier, and once you own one, how to clean it.
How the three compare
Capacity, drainage, and room coverage are where these three genuinely differ, worth checking before reading the full notes below.
| Which matters | Vremi 35-Pint | hOmeLabs HME021006N | Midea Cube MAD20S1QWT |
|---|---|---|---|
| Capacity (as listed) | 35 pints/day | 50 pints/day | 20 pints/day |
| Coverage (as listed) | Not stated by a source we could read | Up to 4,000 sq ft | Up to 1,500 sq ft |
| Drainage | Not stated on this page | Built-in pump + hose, unattended | Hose only, no built-in pump |
| Best fit | General-purpose / standard capacity | Continuous-drain / pump convenience | Compact / smaller-room option |
Quick picks
Vremi 35-pint portable dehumidifier, ENERGY STAR rated
- Capacity: 35 pints/day (as listed; see note below on rating year)
- The Amazon listing says ENERGY STAR; we could not find the model in the ENERGY STAR database, so treat it as the listing's claim
Vremi's own site directly links this exact listing as a current product. We could not confirm which DOE test procedure (pre- or post-2019) this specific listing's 35-pint figure is measured under. See Dehumidifier Sizing & the 2019 DOE Rating Change before comparing this number to a different unit's rating. We also could not verify noise level or room-coverage area from a source we could actually read, so neither is stated here.
Check Price on Amazon (paid link)
hOmeLabs HME021006N 50-pint dehumidifier with built-in pump
- Capacity: 50 pints/day, rated for up to 4,000 sq ft
- Built-in condensate pump + drain hose: continuous drainage without emptying a bucket
- The Amazon listing says ENERGY STAR; we could not find the model in the ENERGY STAR database, so treat it as the listing's claim
If you'd rather not empty a bucket at all, this is the pick. Its built-in pump drains continuously through a hose instead. See Best Dehumidifier for Basement for the basement-specific case this same unit also fits. Honest caveat: this exact model isn't in the manufacturer's current lineup of Wi-Fi-enabled units, though it's still sold as new, in stock, by several independent retailers with no discontinuation notice anywhere we could find.
Check Price on Amazon (paid link)
Midea Cube 20-pint dehumidifier, compact footprint
- Capacity: 20 pints/day, rated for up to 1,500 sq ft
- Compact cube-shaped unit: 13.5 in wide, 13.5 in deep, 13.39 in tall, 33.07 lb
- Drains via included hose; no built-in pump
The smaller-room option on this page, meaningfully lower capacity and a genuinely compact footprint next to the two units above, for a room that doesn't need 35 or 50 pints/day of removal. We could not independently confirm a noise-level figure or the ENERGY STAR claim on this listing's own title from the manufacturer's page directly, so neither is stated here as fact.
Check Price on Amazon (paid link)
Check the rating year
Dehumidifier capacity ratings changed in 2019 under a revised DOE test procedure: a unit rated 30 pints today isn't necessarily weaker than an older 40-pint unit; it may simply be measured under different test conditions. See Dehumidifier Sizing & the 2019 DOE Rating Change for the full explanation and a sizing heuristic, not repeated here.